Day 68 Moretonhampstead to Princetown – 13.98

IMG_0944.JPG
Today started with no electricity in the hostel. I headed out in to Moretonhampstead with the young teacher from Australia who Is chatted to last night. I had a good breakfast and then headed down a country lane towards North Bovey. It was a lovely morning and I was feeling good with no aches or pains. I followed the lane towards Shapley where I was intending to take a path up through the moors. I was hoping that this would be a good path to walk and I wasn’t wrong. It was quite an uphill hike but the path was good to walk and clear. As I came out of the tree lined area I started to get beautiful panoramic views and that great feeling you get when you get to the top and look around you. I was walking through heather moorland which reminded me of the Pennine Way but much drier and the heather was in bloom. It was making me feel guilty about my moans about the Pennine Way. I continued along the moors and eventually met the road at Bennett’s cross which was being used by a sheep to ease its itching. From here I joined the B3212 road which would take me all the way to Princetown. I continued along the road enjoying the scenery and came across some ponies enjoying the grass and not at all disturbed be my presence. As I continued on the rain began and I headed for a pub in Postbridge where I had a lovely satisfying meal. When I left it was still raining a bit but not too much and I carried on along the road. A bit further along it started to pour and as I was already soaked I took refuge in the hotel at The Two Bridges where I finally had my Devon cream tea. I couldn’t eat two scones as I’d already had a big pub lunch so I took the other for later. I only had a mile and a half to walk to my bunkhouse and when I arrived I found that I was the only person that night so had the whole place to myself. Really enjoyed today’s walk and no sign of a limp.
Miles to date – 973.27

Leave a Reply

